June 14th King Mack

Good morning everyone! It is I, King Mack, Protector of the Realm, Nature Blog Dog and Trailblazer Supreme. It is my duty to secure the realm and to note all the changes in weather, nature, and climate to best protect the realm.

20190614_062046.jpg

Today we surveyed the damage from the passing of an occluded system. An occluded front is when a warm air mass gets trapped on top of a colder one that snuck in. Usually it causes rain and storms. This one was pretty silent, because we slept right through it, but leaves all over the yard can attest to some wind action overnight.

Our seasonal intruders cohabitants, the birds who carry a red crest on their wings (Red-winged Blackbirds) are showing signs of unsettlement. Their young have now fledged and are flying clumsily. Winston took it upon himself to bark them away, but was reminded that they are our guests. We think that they will lift camp soon.

Our other winged cohabitants are well hidden behind foliage, but we can still hear the Baltimore Orioles and members of the Warbler family.

Today, some trailblazing was necessary. I was faced with thorns, high weeds, wet dew and the unknown as I bravely ventured off the trail. I lift my head every now and then to smell the warm breeze, which sometimes carries the scent from other realms. Winston loyally sprinted throughout the bushes, never straying far. I did not find any other intruders, though I nibbled on some grass to taste the morning dew.

I must say that I enjoy my newly created status as King. My realm extends as far as the eye can see – although, being a dog, I can’t see that far. I was also told that, despite being King, everyone on my property has an equal claim to it. My status is merely a protective measure.

It is 50°F on my realm right now and it should rise to the upper 60’s, but not too warm, because more cold air is still pushing the occluded front forward. Showers seem to have passed us for now, but might make a reappearance at night or tomorrow.

Have a fantastic Friday everyone! I hope all is well in your realms as well.

Love,

Mack

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Morning Walks with Mack

Leave a comment